top of page
Keyboard and Mouse

Monthly Energy Market Update: Review of Gas, Power & Oil Markets for September 2023

Monthly Energy Market Update - 01/08/2023 - 01/09/2023


Introduction: Welcome to our Monthly Energy Market Update for July 2023. In this comprehensive review, we delve into the intricacies of the Gas & Power markets, focusing on the fluctuations and volatility observed throughout the month. We'll be analysing the factors influencing gas and power prices, including supply disruptions, outages, changes in demand, and the impact of renewables generation. Our aim is to provide you with valuable insights into the overall performance and direction of these markets during the review period. Let's get started.


graph showing wholesale market movements throughout August 2023

Review of Gas & Power Markets from 01/08/2023 - 01/09/2023


In this post, we provide a comprehensive review of the Gas & Power markets for the month spanning from August 1 to September 1, 2023. This review aims to capture the key market dynamics, including price fluctuations, supply-demand imbalances, and other influencing factors, such as industrial actions and weather patterns. Here, we break down the crucial elements that have shaped the markets during this period.


Gas Market Review for 01/08/2023 - 01/09/2023


UK's NBP Day-Ahead (DA) gas prices experienced a roller-coaster ride this month, opening at 65.00p/th on August 1st and closing at 80.98p/th on September 1st. The highest price recorded was an eye-watering 107.00p/th on August 22nd.


Key Factors Affecting the Gas Market:

  • Supply Constraints and Outages: These were significant contributors to the higher prices seen in mid-to-late August, driving prices to the 107.00p/th mark on August 22nd.

  • Weather Patterns: Cooler weather at the start of the month led to decreased demand, reflected in the opening prices. However, fluctuating temperatures contributed to the volatility seen throughout the month.

Market Movement: Opened at 65.00p/th and closed at 80.98p/th, a considerable increase of +15.98p/th or approximately 24.58%.


Power Market Review for July 2023

The power market was similarly volatile, starting at £70.75/MWh on August 1st and closing at £89.00/MWh on September 1st. The peak price reached was £112.00/MWh on August 23rd.


Key Factors Affecting the Power Market:

  • Gas Prices: The considerable volatility in the gas market also impacted electricity prices, especially when 'gas for power' demand was high.

  • Renewable Energy Generation: Variable wind speeds and other weather conditions played a role in renewable energy output, affecting electricity market prices.

Market Movement: Opened at £70.75/MWh and closed at £89.00/MWh, a significant increase of +£18.25/MWh or approximately 25.79%.

 

Market Update: Oil Prices and Market Factors (01/08/2023 - 01/09/2023)


Market Movement

  • Initial Status: As of August 1, Brent Crude was at $77.36, and WTI Crude was at $73.81.

  • Final Status: As of September 1, Brent Crude was at $85.86, and WTI Crude was at $81.63.

Trends

  • Brent Crude: The price increased by approximately $8.5, marking an approximate 11% increase over the month.

  • WTI Crude: The price increased by approximately $7.82, marking an approximate 10.6% increase over the month.

Significant Events

  1. China's Economic Woes: Concerns over China's economic recovery caused oil prices to fluctuate throughout the month.

  2. U.S. Inventories & Production: U.S. crude stocks showed a significant drawdown, but production also increased, reaching its highest since the pandemic began.

  3. Nigeria’s Forcados Terminal: Resumption of exports from Nigeria’s Forcados terminal, after a month-long halt, had a transient impact on prices.

  4. OPEC+ Production Cuts: Led by Saudi Arabia, OPEC+ decided to extend output cuts, contributing to oil price support.

  5. U.S. Federal Reserve Policy: Mixed signals on interest rate hikes from the Federal Reserve contributed to market uncertainty.

  6. Natural Disasters: Hurricane Idalia in the U.S. put some upward pressure on prices due to concerns about supply disruption.

  7. Other Global Indicators: Weak economic data from Germany, Japan, and Eurozone affected global oil demand outlook.

Impacted Sectors

  • Refineries: U.S. diesel prices soared and diesel futures reached a near seven-month high.

  • Automotive: U.S. summer driving season contributed to high demand but ends on the first of September.

  • Manufacturing: Weak global manufacturing data, particularly in the Eurozone and Japan, impacted the oil demand outlook.

Expert Opinions

  • Most experts anticipate continued volatility due to conflicting pressures from supply constraints and uncertain global economic indicators.

 

Snapshot of wholesale market movements


snapshot of wholesale energy prices for today, last month and year

Energy Market Averages

DATE

GAS (pence per therm)

ELECTRIC (£ per MWh)

Last 7 Days

85.57

91.50

Last Month

83.55

86.57

Last Year

132.41

139.32

 

Forecast for the Gas & Power Markets


Gas Market Forecast

The UK NBP Day-Ahead gas market is likely to remain sensitive to supply constraints and planned outages in key fields, potentially driving up prices. Weather patterns and demand levels will also be key variables. After closing at a significant 24.58% increase over the past month to 80.98p/th, market participants should brace for a possibly volatile September, especially if supply decreases while demand holds steady or rises.


Power Market Forecast

The power market, closely tied to gas prices, may also witness volatility, especially if 'gas for power' demand remains high. Fluctuating weather conditions affecting renewable energy output will be another factor to watch. Having closed at £89.00/MWh, marking a 25.79% increase over the last month, market players should remain vigilant about supply and demand dynamics.


Oil Market Forecast

The oil market is grappling with a mix of factors, including global economic uncertainties, OPEC+ supply decisions, and potential natural disasters. After experiencing a roughly 11% (Brent) and 10.6% (WTI) increase over the last month, prices remain subject to influences from both supply and demand sides. Continued volatility is expected due to these conflicting pressures.


Last 12 month market movements


Graphs and charts depicting Monthly Energy Market Update for Gas, Power, and Oil for September 2023


Conclusion

In summary, all three markets—gas, power, and oil—are poised for a turbulent September, influenced by a myriad of factors from supply outages to global economic indicators. Market participants would do well to keep a close eye on these developing situations.

 

Understanding the energy market can be complex, but it's crucial for making informed decisions about your energy needs. That's where we come in. At The Smart Energy Company, we're committed to helping you navigate the energy market with ease. Whether you're looking to renew your energy contract or switch providers, we're here to help.


Don't miss out on potential savings and better energy deals. Get in touch with us today at 0151 459 3388 for your free energy quote. Let us help you power your future



26 views0 comments

Comments


Keep Up To Date With Market Updates

technological-devices-with-financial-reports.jpg

Securing your next energy contract at the optimum moment is essential for fully realising your savings opportunities. Provide your details below to gain access to weekly market updates, giving you the advantage to make informed purchasing decisions at the right time.

 

Bid farewell to aggressive sales approaches from other brokers and take charge with confidence!

You're Subscribed! Look out for your first report soon!

Have More Questions?

  • Is it possible to change multiple business utilities at the same time?
    Our switching service allows you to switch multiple utilities simultaneously. We have successfully assisted multiple businesses in the UK by helping them save on various services such as energy and water with savings within 2023 already over the £2 Million mark.
  • How much can I save on my business utility bills?
    The amount you can save on your business utility bills will depend on various factors such as your current usage, the rates offered by different providers, and the specific deals available in your location. However, our switching service is designed to help you find the best deals and save as much as possible. By comparing multiple suppliers and negotiating competitive rates, we aim to maximise your potential savings. Get in touch with us to discuss your specific needs and get personalised information on potential cost savings for your business utility bills.
  • How does switching business utilities work?
    Switching business utilities involves a straightforward process. Here's a general overview of how it works: Evaluation: Start by assessing your current utility bills and usage patterns. This will give you an idea of your current costs and help identify areas where savings can be made. Comparison: Use a switching service like ours to compare different utility providers in your area. We provide you with quotes from multiple suppliers, allowing you to compare prices, contract terms, and services offered. Selection: Based on the comparison results, choose the utility provider that best meets your needs and budget. Consider factors such as price, customer reviews, contract terms, and any additional services or benefits offered. Contract Negotiation: Once you've chosen a new provider, our team can help negotiate the contract terms and rates on your behalf. Switching Process: The switching service will coordinate the transition with your current supplier and the new provider. This may involve submitting termination notices, arranging meter readings, and scheduling the activation of new services. Enjoy the Savings: After the switch, you'll start receiving services from your new provider, typically at the agreed-upon rates. You will notice savings on your utility bills, providing you with cost advantages for your business. Remember, the exact process may vary depending on the type of utility you are switching, but our switching service aims to simplify the process and assist you at every step.
  • Who are the cheapest business utility providers?
    As market conditions and prices fluctuate regularly, it's challenging to provide an up-to-date and definitive list of the cheapest business utility providers. The prices we provide you are valid and available on the day of the quote and will provide most current and competitive deals available. Our switching service helps you compare prices and offers from multiple suppliers, ensuring you have the most accurate and relevant information to make an informed decision about your business utility provider.
  • What is energy procurement?
    Energy procurement is the process of sourcing, negotiating, and securing energy contracts to meet the specific needs of a business. It involves analysing energy consumption patterns, understanding market trends, and negotiating with suppliers to obtain the best possible rates and contract terms.
  • Why is energy procurement important for my business?
    Energy procurement ensures that your business secures energy contracts that are both cost-effective and aligned with your operational needs. Proper energy procurement can lead to significant cost savings, budget predictability, and reduced risks associated with volatile energy markets.
  • How does The Smart Energy Company help with energy procurement?
    We specialise in analysing your energy consumption, understanding your specific needs, and leveraging our relationships with over 20 suppliers to negotiate the best possible contracts on your behalf. Our team ensures you get optimal rates, flexible terms, and contracts that align with your business goals.
  • How do you ensure I get the best energy rates?
    Our team continuously monitors the energy market, staying updated with trends, price fluctuations, and supplier offerings. Coupled with our in-depth analysis of your energy needs and consumption patterns, we negotiate with suppliers to secure rates that are both competitive and suited to your business.
  • Are there any hidden fees associated with your energy procurement services?
    Transparency is a core value at The Smart Energy Company. We provide a clear breakdown of any commission we earn as a company when you come to agree any new energy contract. This is typically included as an uplift in your unit rate and paid to us by the supplier you chose to go to. Our primary goal is to secure the best energy deals for you, with no hidden costs.
Business Meeting

Unlock the Potential of
Your Business Energy

At The Smart Energy Company, we're committed to offering tailored solutions that fit your energy needs perfectly. By staying ahead of market trends, we ensure you're always equipped with the most efficient and sustainable energy options. We take pride in our client-driven approach, where your feedback shapes our continuous improvement.

 

Why not schedule a complimentary consultation with one of our energy experts today? Let's find the perfect energy solution tailored to your business.

See What Our Clients Say About Us

1828884.png
1828884.png
1828884.png
1828884.png
1828884.png
56937_edited.png

Very helpful, quick expert advice. We have been using Smart Energy for a while.

56937_edited_edited.png

Ian Hughes

Operation Manager

Group of Bars

bottom of page